Hankins Wins Board of Supervisors Race – Lunenburg favors Republican State Candidates, but Democrats hold on to Virginia

   Written by on November 10, 2017 at 10:14 am

Hankins wins Ralph NorthamSTATEWIDE – While there were several members of the Board of Supervisors and School Board as well as Delegate Tommy Wright and Delegate Roslyn Tyler on Lunenburg ballots this year, the lone local race that involved people running against each other was between two candidates who were seeking to represent the District 2 (Brown’s Store) seat on the Lunenburg County Board of Supervisors.

The winner for this seat was Mike Hankins over Wanda Morrison by a nineteen percent margin. In March 2017, Mike Hankins was appointed to fill the spot left open by the unexpected death of District 2 Representative, David Wingold.

Two candidates from that district had asked for the appointment with Wanda Morrison being the other person to approach the board about the vacancy.  This election determined who filled the remainder of Mr. Wingold’s term to 2019.

While Lunenburg voters chose the three Republican candidates, Gillespie (Governor), Vogel (Lieutenant Governor) and Adams (Attorney General), the Democratic candidates took all three spots in the state as Ralph Northam will be the new Virginia Governor, Justin Fairfax won the Lieutenant Governor race and Mark Herring won the race for Attorney General.

Tommy Wright, Jr and Roslyn Tyler ran unopposed and will continue in those Delegate spots for their respective districts.

Wayne Hoover, Bob Zava and Frank Bacon all were unopposed and remain on the Board of Supervisors, while Barry Carnes, Beverley Hawthorne and Amy McCLure were unopposed and remained on the School Board for Lunenburg.

Leave a Reply